40 years Capri 2.8 injection

1981 - 2021

In February 1981, the long-awaited Capri 2.8 injection arrived. With the 2.8i, Ford wanted to continue the tradition of the Capri 2600 RS, which had been so successful in motorsport - because like its legendary predecessor, the "newcomer" also had a fuel-injected engine. It was the one that Ford had previously only offered in the Granada series.

The differences to the 2600 RS could not have been greater, however, as they clearly show the rapid development of engine electronics in the seventies and eighties. While the 2600 RS was still equipped with a purely mechanical Kugelfischer injection system, the 2.8i had a modern Bosch K-Jetronic with contactless transistor ignition system, which ensured low consumption values in relation to the power. For a 160 hp unit of 2.8 litres capacity, the figures of 8.1 litres at a constant 90 km/h, 10 litres at a constant 120 km/h and 14.8 litres per 100 km in city traffic were remarkable.

The V6 engine of the 2.8 injection gave new life to the Capri. The top speed was now 210 km/h and the acceleration values proved values of 8 seconds for the sprint from standstill to 100km/h. With a price of 25.950,-DM, the Capri 2,8i was the cheapest car to join the then exclusive club of 200 km/h fast cars.

In order to bring this impressive performance onto the road, the Ford engineers had tuned the chassis accordingly. A Bilstein chassis modified and lowered compared to the series, firmer suspension by means of rear single-leaf springs and stronger anti-roll bars on the front and rear axles, as well as wide tyres in the dimension 205/60 VR13 on 7-inch wide alloy rims, were among the measures taken. The brake system was also adapted to the increased performance. Internally ventilated brake discs at the front and a rear brake pressure control valve against premature overbraking of the rear axle.

Recaro front seats in grey and blue check with anthracite interior trim, electrically adjustable passenger inside mirror, the special Ford SRT 22 DP radio/cassette player, black rear spoiler and side decorative stripes with the "injection" lettering, which could also be found on the rear, completed this most powerful Capri series model to date.

Excerpt from "Das große Ford Capri Buch" by Günther Ulfig.

40 Jahre Capri 2.8 injection

1981 - 2021

Im Februar 1981 kam der lang erwartete Capri 2.8 injection. Mit dem 2.8i wollte Ford an die Tradition des im Motorsport so erfolgreichen Capri 2600 RS anknüpfen – denn wie schon der legendäre Vorgänger, besaß auch der „Neuling“ einen Einspritzmotor. Es war jener, den Ford bislang nur in der Granada Baureihe angeboten hatte.

Die Unterschiede zum 2600 RS hätten aber größer nicht sein können, machen sie doch vor allem die rasante Entwicklung der Motorenelektronik in den siebziger und achtziger Jahren deutlich. War der 2600 RS noch mit einer rein mechanischen Kugelfischer Einspritzanlage versehen, so besaß der 2.8i eine moderne Bosch K-Jetronic mit kontaktloser Transistor Zündanlage, was im Verhältnis zur Leistung für niedrige Verbrauchswerte sorgte. Für ein 160 PS-Aggregat von 2,8 Liter Hubraum waren die Werte 8,1 Liter bei konstant 90km/h, 10 Liter bei konstant 120 km/h und 14,8 Liter auf 100 km im Stadtverkehr bemerkenswert.

Der V6-Motor des 2,8 injection bescherte dem Capri neues Leben. Die Höchstgeschwindigkeit lag nun bei 210 km/h und die Beschleunigungswerte bewiesen Werte von 8 Sekunden für den Spurt aus dem Stand auf 100km/h. Mit einem Preis von 25.950,-DM, war der Capri 2,8i das günstigste Fahrzeug, mit dem man in den damals noch exklusiven Club der 200 km/h schnellen Fahrzeuge aufgenommen wurde.

Um diese imposanten Fahrleistungen auch entsprechend auf die Straße zu bringen, hatten die Ford Techniker das Fahrwerk entsprechend hart abgestimmt. Ein gegenüber der Serie modifiziertes und tiefergelegtes Bilstein Fahrwerk, straffere Federung durch hinterer Einblattfeder und stärkeren Querstabilisatoren an Vorder- als auch Hinterachse, sowie Breitreifen der Dimension 205/60 VR13 auf 7 Zoll breiten Leichtmetallfelgen, gehörten zu den Maßnahmen. Auch die Bremsanlage wurde der gestiegenen Leistung angepasst. Innenbelüftete Bremsscheiben vorn und ein hinteres Bremsdruckregelventil gegen vorzeitiges Überbremsen der Hinterachse.

Recaro Vordersitze in Grau und Blau kariert mit anthrazitfarbener Innenverkleidung, elektrischer verstellbarer Beifahrer Innenspiegel, das spezielle Radio/Cassettengerät Ford SRT 22 DP, schwarzer Heckspoiler und Seitenzierstreifen mit dem Schriftzug „injection“, der auch auf dem Heck zu finden war, komplettierten dieses bis dato stärkste Capri Serien Modell.

Auszug aus dem „Das große Ford Capri Buch“ von Günther Ulfig.